Friday, June 26, 2009

2009 Awards Finalists Reception Draws Big Crowd

We had a fantastic crowd turn out last evening for our first of two Award Receptions being held this summer! Thank you to UK Trade & Investment for hosting this event. We would also like to extend a thank you to all of our other sponsors of the evening: Invest Northern Ireland, Ropes & Gray, Silicon Valley Bank, Microsoft and PricewaterhouseCoopers.

The finalists were announced in the following five categories last night:

2009 Private Sector Company
Glasshouse Technologies
Phase Forward
Starent Networks

2009 Public Sector Organization
Babson College
City of Boston - MIS Department
Town of Brookline

CEO of the Year
Colin Angle, Chairman, CEO and Co-Founder of iRobot
Brian Halligan, CEO and Co-Founder of HubSpot
David Patrick, President and CEO of xkoto
Michael Simon, CEO of LogMeIn
Brian Zanghi, CEO of Kadient

2009 Innovator Award
danah boyd, Microsoft Research and the Berkman Center for Internet & Society at Harvard University
Rich Miner, Managing Director of Google Ventures
Timothy Rowe, CEO of Cambridge Innovation Center
Dharmesh Shah, Chief Technology Office and Founder of HubSpot

CIO of the Year
George Brenckle, CIO of UMass Memorial Health Center
Bill Fandrich, CIO of Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts
Jay Leader, CIO of iRobot
Anne Margulies, CIO of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts
John Polizzi, CIO of BJ's Wholesale Club

"We are very excited to have announced this year's first set of finalists, who have set themselves apart by exemplifying the spirit of innovation and the future promise that defines the Massachusetts technology community." - Tom Hopcroft, President of the Mass Technology Leadership Council

Congratulations to all of the finalists!!

Please join us for another spectacular awards reception being held on July 16th. On this night, the finalists will be announced for the final four categories: Emerging Innovative Company, CTO of the Year, Investor of the Year and Emerging Executive of the Year. For more information, and to register please visit

More than 160 submissions were received during the open nomination process. Council trustees, local thought leaders and local media were involved with the selection process. The winners will be announced at the Mass Technology Leadership Council's Fall Awards Gala being held on November 5, 2009.

Post Contributed by Jillian Hegarty, MassTLC Relationships Manager

1 comment:

tylerjones said...

This is great.
I stumbled upon your post and I am so happy that I did.
jon renau wigs