Friday, November 6, 2009

Over 400 turn out to Honor Technology Leaders at MassTLC Awards

We were honored and humbled by the turn-out of technology pioneers, venture capitalists, and other leaders at this year's Mass Technology Leadership Awards gala at the Boston Marriot Copley Place. In its twelfth year, the awards set out to recognize the best and brightest technology innovators and leaders in the Bay State.

The evening began with recognition by the Council's Education Foundation of K-12 teachers who have gone "above and beyond" the norm to hook their students on science, technology, engineering and math (STEM). Above & Beyond Awards were presented to:
- Brian Vitarisi, Eric Simoneau, Louis Diaz, Carlos Vega, and Juanita Brown of the Sarah Greenwood K-8 School, Dorchester
- Ryan King and April Sither of the Masconomet Middle School, Topsfield
- Lori Coburn and Marjorie Roberson of the Natick High School, Natick
- Carrie-Anne Sherwood of the Codman Academy Public Charter School, Dorchester
- Angela Cardono Cunard, Jennifer Borden, and David Bonneau of the Seekonk High School, Seekonk

The Council's Commonwealth Award was given to Leo Beranek, founder of Bolt Beranek and Newman (BBN), the firm credited with developing the ARPANET, the precursor to the Internet. Leo has been described as a Renaissance man -- a scientist, an inventor, an entrepreneur, a musician, a television executive, and philanthropist, and an author -- who has lived life in constant motion. MassTLC Chair Steve O'Leary recently interviewed Leo for Mass High Tech (view interview and video clip).

The Council's Innovation Catalyst Awards went to Bill Warner, founder of AVID Technologies and Wildfire Communications. Bill was described as a Student and Teacher, Investor and Executive, Startup Entrepreneur and Public Company CEO, Inventor and Reinventor, Handcycler and Recycler, a man who has helped shape many lives and whose own life was shaped by many.

The Council gave an additional nine awards in individual categories like CEO and CIO of the year, as well as in company categories like Private Sector Company of the Year. This year's 40+ finalists comprised an impressive slate of technology leaders. The winners are as follows:

Chief Executive Officer of the Year - Colin Angle, Chairman, CEO and Co-Founder, iRobot

Chief Information Officer of the Year - George Brenckle, CIO, UMass Memorial Health Center

Chief Technology Officer of the Year - Jeff Flowers, Chief Technology Officer, Carbonite

Emerging Executive of the Year - Patricia Cotter, Vice President Worldwide Operations, Netezza Corporation

Innovator of the Year - Dharmesh Shah, Chief Technology Officer and Founder, HubSpot

Investor of the Year - Bijan Sabet, Partner, Spark Capital

Private Sector Company of the Year - Phase Forward

Public Sector Organization of the Year - WBUR

Innovative Company of the Year - WiTricity

Special thanks to our platinum sponsors included: Invest Northern Ireland, Microsoft New England Research & Development Center (NERD), PricewaterhouseCoopers, Ropes & Gray and SVB.

Read Mass High Tech's coverage, Past and Present Innovators Take Center Stage at MassTLC Awards.

No comments: